Farrier brand name in adhesive letters, how-to.

Regarding the photo below, I received a question about the Farrier brand graphic. Instead of answering the question privately to the asker, it seemed like a good idea to do this publicly so that others can benefit from it as well. Additionally, it serves as a useful guide for myself for next time so that I don’t have to research this again.

So I wanted to apply adhesive letters of the Farrier brand in the housestyle of Farrier Marine. However, when you want to have adhesive letters made by a sticker maker, you are limited to the fonts that such a company can offer. Of course, the exact font used in Farrier’s logo is not among their options.

The good news is that most sticker makers can also cut the letters from a digital file in which a font has been converted to a letter contour. Such a vector file has the extension .eps. Further investigation taught me that you can convert a .jpg file to a .eps file online. I did it here, but there are several free websites where you can do this.

But which font did Farrier actually use?

There are apps for that, but you can also find it online. For example, search on Google for “recognize font from image,” and you will find various options. I did this with the online version of “whatthefont.

What you need for this is an image with text. On the old Farrier Marine website, I saved the Farrier Marine logo as a .jpg file using a print screen and selected the letters using a photo editing program (in my case, a very old version of Paintshop).

After uploading it, a series of fonts that look similar or identical appear. The interesting thing is that on the WhatTheFont website, you can now create your own text as well.

In my case, this is “FARRIER F-39.”

Then, I took another print screen of the best result, saved it as a .jpg file, and then uploaded it again to convert it to an .eps file. After saving that .eps file, I uploaded it to the sticker maker. On the sticker maker’s website (in my case, https://123sticker.nl/), you can then edit it in terms of size, type of material, etc.

The yellow logo sticker is much easier to create. It’s not a letter but a sticker. Again, based on a print screen (or downloading the relevant image file) and uploading it as a .jpg file to the sticker maker.

Simple, isn’t it?

However, while making the letters for the home port in her housestyle, I overlooked that the print screen I took still had a small camera icon in the letter L. Well, better luck next time.

You can download the files I made. Here the Yellow sticker and here the Farrier F-39 graphic

Leave a comment