Happy New Year.

Over the past year, I have made little progress in further construction of my boat. There were too many distractions, including preparing and carrying out an unforgettable 6500nm sailing trip to the far north. I have reported extensively on this, although in my native language, so you will have to use Google Translate or something similar to make it readable for you. Sorry about that.

It was my plan to rig the boat this year. For that, I first gave the mast a beautiful mint green color. Unfortunately, that’s where it stopped. Deliveries of the required mast fittings have been delayed so much that it was no longer possible to finish the rigging. The mast is still in a horizontal position over the boat. It is now winter here so it will probably be a few months before the mast is ready and can be set vertically.

On my YouTube channel, you can find a short video of the transport of the mast from the workshop to my house.

My website and this blog, apart from the travel reports, have also been greatly neglected by me. I had already promised to do more with it but yes, busyness and lack of motivation, ensure that the digital reporting of my construction activities is on the back burner. It’s also just a lot of work and it’s also a challenge for me to write it in English.

However, today I discovered ChatGPT. It’s amazing what possibilities it offers, but it’s also a good translation machine that I hope it will make my writing easier for me. This post is the first try 🙂

It should be winter here now. Last week the harbor was still frozen but now it’s autumnal again with a lot of rain and storms. A somewhat dull last day of the year. The temperature is also high for this time of year. More autumn than winter.

Meanwhile, I wish everyone a happy new year with many beautiful sailing days.

Stay tuned.

2 Responses to Happy New Year.

  1. cartersboat says:

    Yea! For Fram! Very happy new 2023 to you Henny. We are all fortunate you found this new chat tool. Your posts written in English have always been excellent. But I have especially respected your online work because you chose to use another language. The documenting of these boats is indeed a difficult extra job, so I want to reinforce to your readers how important your writing, photos and video have been to the other Fboat builders out here. Long Live Fram. And we will celebrate all over the world when her mast reaches for the sky in ‘23! Soldier on, Mr. Builder 😉 – Ravenswing Greg

    >

  2. Geoffrey strange says:

    I have been following your build from the beginning? And have always thought your English was great! You did more for progressing dyi construction than any web site I’m familiar with. Thank you!

Leave a comment