Holiday time !

Progress has been rather slow lately. I have a good excuse because various social commitments and my demanding day job gives me insufficient spare time for the building project. I also have a physical problem because of an overload of my back, which is being treated by a physiotherapist.

In reality ….. there is a little less devotion for the project at the moment.

So high time for a holiday break.

Time for a break !

This is also the moment to rethink some design aspects and I encourage the reader to give his or her opinion by a reply on this post about the following two subjects:

1. Deck stepped boom
2. Self tacking jib with jib boom (no Hoyt)

Jumping-off point:

I am more a cruiser than a racer, however I like shorthanded long distance racing. I am a lazy cruiser and I’m getting older. Our best first mate is the auto pilot, even while tacking. I am looking for the ultimate convenient handling of sails. The main sail is on batten cars and has slab reefing. For my wife I will mount an electrical winch for hoisting the main sail. Smoothly reefing has my highest priority. A rolling main sail (either way) is no option and I am not particularly fond of jib furlers. So, this got me thinking of the following :

1. Deck stepped boom. Because of the rotating mast there are no problems with the alignment of main sheet, reefing lines, outhaul etc. going back to the cockpit and the sail stack is not too high to reach the upper sail batten.

2. Self tacking jib. I have two problems with this. First, sail trim is not optimal and two, the hole of the daggerboard case blocks the mounting of the sheet track.

But a self tacking jib is sooo convenient. That is why I am thinking of a jib boom. With the (carbon) boom the sheet track can be moved to a position between deck hatch and daggerboard case and sail shape can be optimal trimmed by the jib sheet, the outhaul and the position of the outhaul block on the boom.

Furthermore, a hank-on jib can be slab reefed (from cockpit). Actually, in short trimming and reefing possibilities of the jib on a boom can be the same as the main sail.

I can see some downsides, as the installation is a little complicated, a little more weight, it is an obstacle on the foredeck and not for nothing a jib boom is also called a “widow maker”

But for me it can make the difference between “tacking to our destination” or “starting the engine”.

Am I missing something ?

Back from holiday I have to build in the bow tube and that is also the moment to build in yes or no the pivot for the jib boom.

What do you think ?

10 Responses to Holiday time !

  1. Gunther says:

    Henny,
    first of all: Congratulations!!! I’m watching your site since many monthes. Your work, your ideas, your craftmanship, your web page, your photos, everything is really gorgeous. I’m very deep impressed.

    Now to your questions:
    1. Deck stepped boom
    2. Self tacking jib with jib boom (no Hoyt)

    My first thought: good idea. My second one: no forget it. Forget it both.

    1. Deck stepped boom. I can not see any advantage for this set up. Your reeving idea is perfect. It works any time, any condition. Please keep away from any roll-reeving of main sail. Looks good in the harbour. That’s the only advantage.
    Ask yourself: How many times do you drop your sail or reeve, and how many times do you dug under your boom while on board. The advantage of a higher boom not to kick your head and room beneath boom is worth a lot more than the disadvantage to reach the upper sail batten.

    2. Self tacking jib.
    As well a very good ide. But please leave the boom. To complicated with again too less advantages. Reefing jib with a furler is the easiest and best way. Many very good solutions are available. And there exist a lot of self tacking jib solutions you may have a look on. There is no need for a jib traveller and no need for a main guidance block in the middle of your deck (impossible because of the dagger board).
    Think of an solution with two guidance blocks left and right next to the opening of the daggerboard case. I will post a picture if I will find a photo of such an setup.

    I’m nosey how your solution finally will look like.
    Good luck in your project form a great fan!
    Gunther

    • Fram says:

      Thanks Gunther for your kind words and advice. See also my comment to Tri Sailor .

      I’m still in doubt about a jib furler. I dont think it is a good idea to reef with a furler. So it is in or out, not something in between. That means I need another stay for a heavy weather jib and/or storm jib. Or just a hank-on jib … not very convenient I know, but kiss.

      I still like the jib traveller

  2. Dorian says:

    Hey Henny,
    how is it? After all I may have yet another obtion for your jib.
    What about a normal curved track in front of the daggerboard case and additional two straight tracks like in the design. With a furling jib you can have best of both worlds. Use it a little reefed self tacking when shorthanded, lazy or you have the need to tack often or use it fully unrolled when you have enough room to stay on one bow for a longer time and prefer a larger area.
    And another thought about jib boom vs. track: what would be the height of the clew above deck level with either options? I could imagine, that a boom guided by a small track with all the blocks and stuff gives you an even higher clew than a track simply high enough to be clear of the daggerboard.

    Dorian

  3. Arno says:

    Hallo Henny,

    Take a look at Yana grainer 40
    https://picasaweb.google.com/ctcnederland/HET2010Zondag#5514518080007599602
    Gary his F36 has his boom almost on the deck.
    If I have to choose I go for the deck step boom and a jib without a boom.

    Arno

  4. Arno says:

    Henny,

    I did find a picture of a selftakking trak.
    http://www.f-boat.com/pages/News2/F-39Greenwood.html

    Arno

  5. Tri sailor says:

    Hi!

    I have been following your building project on/off for times.

    I myself have a 30 foot racing trimaran with still some interior space, so racer/cruiser is proper term I believe, built to match Multi2000.

    Comments on your building parts.

    1. Deck stepped boom
    2. Self tacking jib with jib boom (no Hoyt)

    1. Deck stepping has advantage of not pulling the force against the mast, thus leaving mast free to rotate. The line reefing system doesn’t work too well on rotating mast with operating from cockpit. If reef line lock is at cockpit, the outhaul force of the line will press the boom agains the mast and prevent free rotation, and braking everything around it. Thus you need to have locks at the boom to take the pulling force away from the mast. This means you can do the reef from just pulling the reef line, but opening the reef you have to go to the boom to open the lock. I imagine with deck stepped boom you can have the locks at the cockpit and eliminate the need to go to the boom. Plus you free your mast – there is a reason why maxis and open 60 and all have deck step.

    Downside is of course the space it takes. Boom comes lower, and the deck space is more limited. Also mast rotation adjustment becomes more complicated.

    If you will have boom connected to the mast, I would recommend getting rid off line reefing. Just put a hook to outhaul vang and use that hook to do full sail and reefs – that way you only need one outhaul rope and lock for the whole system. You need to go to boom to do and open reef, but as seen, you need to go to boom anyway if it is supported to the mast. You will save in weight – locks, 50-100 m of rope, blocks…less spaghetti, better sailing.

    2. Confused. Self tacking jib doesn’t really affect the trim of the jib compared to not having it. I would never put a boom on my boat there. Changing sails, coming and going from ports, everything is more and more hard when you have more stuff at front. Your boat is larger, but generally the bow of trimaran is really tight place to be, especially when there is weather and you need to reef. The boom and reef system increases again weight and spaghetti. Ropes going all around, and advantage is zero. You said you are lazy cruiser – less ropes, lazier you can be.

    Get self tacking jib. Make it happen with the daggerboard somehow. Avoid boom. Get roller jib with vertical battens – easy reef without going to the bow. Works well. Trim is good, don’t worry over it. Less ropes and adjustments means more reliability and more time to concentrate on sailing, not adjusting. As you said, you like to race alone for long distance. Better to have easy sailing boat and think of tactics. Less spaghetti, better sailing.

    Like the f18 world champion said – remove everything which isn’t absolutely necessary. then you have time to think what you are doing and where going, and also to pay attention to what others are doing – instead of going through all the adjustments all the time. It’s ok if there is a large crew to do it all the time….

    • Fram says:

      Thanks guys for all your support and suggestions. Last week I made the beginnings of a carbon gooseneck (is this the right word for the connection of the jib boom to the deck) and the necessary reinforcement plate in the bow. Well, in short, the result looks good and is constructively justified, but is far too heavy. It has not been taped in the bow yet ……… and I don’t do that anymore. Thanks Tri sailor, you’ve touched a sensitive spot with the spaghetti metaphor and some other wise words.

      So, I’m down to earth again, selftacking jib without a jib boom 🙂
      I will find a solution for the jib track.

      Deck stepped boom is still in consideration ….

Leave a Reply

